How I got my first job as a developer

How I got my first job as a developer

In this article, I will go over how I got my first non-internship job as a frontend developer, advice to new developers who are looking to get their first job, and how you can strengthen your portfolio to showcase your skill set.

Background story

Before landing my first job, I did two internships as a front-end developer. During these internships, I got an opportunity to put my skill set into use by working on real-world projects and collaborating with other developers and designers on the team. Both internships were a great stepping stone to landing my first non-internship role as I not only grew my technical skills but also my soft skills such as effective communication and teamwork.

Landing my first non-internship role

As my second internship was coming to an end, I started looking for my next role. I used various job sites and signed up for various tech newsletters that shared job opportunities in the IT industry. While doing this, I also updated my portfolio projects and signed up to Pramp which is a site that you can use to practice live interviews with peers. I came across this site after someone recommended it as she was also using it to practice for mock interviews.

As I mentioned earlier, I applied to various jobs from various job boards and websites including LinkedIn where I came across the company that hired me. They had an opening for a frontend developer and I applied. They responded a few weeks later and I started interviewing for the position. The interview process had 2 stages, behavioral and technical interviews.

My advice to new developers who are looking to get their first job

Firstly, there is no one way or process of landing a job. However, I will share what worked for me.

  • Practice what you are learning. If it is a technical skill, build a project with the skills that you have learned. This will help solidify the skills and you can use the project to showcase those skills when applying for jobs.

  • Build in public. Share whatever you have learned with the public.

  • Don't forget the soft skills. It's one thing to write code but another thing to communicate and articulate what you are building or even just simply explain your skill set. Therefore, soft skills are just as important as technical skills especially when you are interviewing or working in a team. If you would like to improve on this, I would suggest doing mock interviews often with your friends or using sites such as Pramp.

How you can strengthen your portfolio to showcase your skill set

One of the things that I constantly thought of when I was learning and applying to jobs was, 'How do I stand out from the crowd?'. This is because I knew most job applications had hundreds or more applicants, especially in the entry-level web development field. One of the answers that I got was building and showcasing projects that solve real-world problems.

For instance, building applications such as a JavaScript calculator that contains the basic functionalities will help you learn the language, but when it comes to showcasing your skill set while looking for a job, you need to go beyond a JavaScript calculator with the basic functionalities. NOTE: The JavaScript calculator is just an example. What I am trying to say is, build something that stands out. This will not only give you an added advantage in the job application but you will also be learning more than just the basic skills.

Conclusion

I hope my journey and tips help someone who is looking for their first job as a developer.

Happy coding!